Get More Information...

Contact Us

City of Carbondale
Police Department
501 South Washington
Carbondale, Illinois 62901

Phone (618) 457-3200
Fax (618) 457-3204

email: police@ci.carbondale.il.us

  

Many forms are available in PDF format. To view and print in PDF format, you must download and install the reader below:


Get Adobe Reader

Latest News

10-20-14-Web Release-South Ash Street Disturbance/Weekend Arrest Totals
On 10-18-14 at about 11:14 p.m. an officer with the City of Carbondale Police Department observed a large group of people in the 400 block of South Ash Street.   Read More »

10-20-14 Web Release –Aggravated Robbery Investigation
On 10-20-14 at about 3:05 a.m., officers with the City of Carbondale Police Department responded to the 200 block of South Wall Street in reference to a report of a robbery at a business.   Read More »

More News »

Subscribe to Latest News

Related Links

Reminders Concerning Alcohol, Bicycles, Parking and Sound Amplification

The City of Carbondale Police Department would like to remind all residents of the following State Laws and Local Ordinances concerning:

Alcohol

Bicycles

Parking

Amplified Sound

Alcohol -  State Laws and Ordinances

The City of Carbondale Police Department would like to familiarize newcomers and established residents with laws and ordinances that affect alcohol consumption, bars, and parties in the city.

Both state law and city ordinance require a person to be 21 years of age to purchase, possess, or consume alcohol. A city ordinance has established a minimum $250.00 fine for underage possession/consumption offenses.

You must be 19 years of age to enter a bar in Carbondale, unless you are accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. This does not prohibit persons less than 19 from entering restaurants or similar establishments whose primary purpose is not related to service of alcohol.

An ordinance requires you to show a vehicle operator’s license, a state photo ID card, a visa, a passport or a military identification card in order to enter a bar in Carbondale. No other forms of ID are accepted. State law mandates that anyone who uses another person’s driver’s license or ID card to enter a bar is subject to a minimum fine of $500.00, or 50 hours of community service. In addition, both the person who uses the ID and the actual owner of the ID may have their driver’s license suspended for 12 months. It is illegal to possess a false or forged license or ID card.

Police officers have the authority to request ID from bar patrons they believe are underage. Failure to cooperate with an officer could result in an arrest for obstructing justice or resisting a police officer.

In order to ensure a successful party in Carbondale, it is important the host take into account their neighbors reactions, guest’s behavior, and their own liability. It is illegal to sell alcohol without a license. Parties should be restricted to persons who have been invited. Word spreads fast when it comes to parties and hosts should be prepared to turn people away. Let your neighbors and the police know that you are having a party and how they can contact you if there are problems.

It is illegal to furnish alcoholic beverages for money or any other consideration. This includes charging for cups or entertainment and then providing “free” alcoholic beverages.
It is illegal to furnish alcoholic beverages to any person less than 21 years of age, and it is the party host’s responsibility to ensure that persons are 21or older before serving them alcohol. It is a good idea to have non-alcoholic drinks available for guests who are under the age of 21.

It is unlawful for anyone to purchase or transport a keg between 10:00 p.m. and 7:00 a.m. in Carbondale. There are additional days around Halloween when keg sales are prohibited.

It is illegal to possess an unsealed container of alcohol on public property. This includes streets, sidewalks, alleys, and any public way. Party hosts are responsible for ensuring their guests do not leave their party with open containers of alcohol.

If police arrive at a party, the host should meet with the officers as soon as they arrive. Officers will notify the host of complaints received, or other reasons why police are at the party. Officers will then review laws and city ordinances which apply to the party with the host. Once the host is made aware of the problems, they should take steps to eliminate the violations. If the police return, arrests are likely to result.

The City of Carbondale Police Department appreciates our residents need for recreation and relaxation, but is also well acquainted with a multitude of situations that can go wrong at a house party. To help keep our citizens informed and safe the Department offers two pamphlets; “The Facts About Drinking in Carbondale” and “Helpful Hints for a Successful Party in Carbondale.” These pamphlets explain in greater detail the ordinances and laws, and are available at the Carbondale Police Department.

 

Bicycle Ordinances

The City of Carbondale Police Department would like to remind residents of the State laws and local ordinances that affect bicycle riding in our city.

It is important to remember that many traffic laws relevant to motor vehicles apply to bicycles as well. This includes stopping at stop signs and red lights, turning from appropriate lanes, riding in the same direction as motorized traffic and displaying registration.

Bicycles must be registered with either the Carbondale Police Department or the SIUC Department of Public Safety. This places a complete description of your bicycle on file, along with its serial number, should your bicycle ever be stolen. Returning a recovered bicycle to its owner is greatly facilitated if this information is readily available.

To register your bicycle with the city, you must bring your bike to the Carbondale Police Department. There, you will provide owner and bicycle information on a bicycle registration form and your bicycle will be checked to ensure that it is properly equipped (reflectors, functioning brakes, etc.). Upon payment of the $2.00 fee, a decal will be placed on your bicycle frame. A copy of the bicycle registration form can be downloaded and then printed from your computer from the forms tab on this web site.

Some required bicycle equipment includes side, front, and rear reflectors. Bicycles ridden during nighttime hours shall be equipped with a white light to the front.

Because of the large volume of pedestrian traffic in Carbondale riding bicycles on sidewalks is prohibited, except for children under 12 years of age on bicycles with wheel size less than 24" an in areas where the sidewalk is specifically marked for bicycle traffic (the south side of East Grand near the Recreation Center, for example). There are several bikeway routes and bicycle-only lanes on Carbondale streets. Pedestrians have the right-of-way on the Drainway/Greenway Paths and bicycle riders should yield to them.

If you have any questions, please contact the Support Services Division at 457-3200 Ext 471

 

Parking Ordinances

Thousands of new and returning residents have arrived in Carbondale over the past week and the City of Carbondale Police Department would like to ensure that everyone is mindful of several parking regulations in our city.

Carbondale ordinance prohibits parking on or across sidewalks. Besides being an inconvenience to all pedestrians, this parking violation threatens the safety of persons with disabilities using the sidewalk. If your car is blocking a sidewalk, a ticket may be issued and your car may be towed.

There is a 72-hour time limit for on-street parking. Vehicles suspected to be in violation will be marked and ticketed when it is determined that a 72 hour violation has occurred. Vehicles are subject to being towed if they are not moved and have at least two unpaid parking citations.

Parking is prohibited in the front yard of any one, two, three or four-unit dwelling. Any vehicle parked in front of these dwellings must be in a driveway.

Other parking regulations include the following: parked vehicles must not block private driveways or crosswalks; parking is prohibited in loading zones, or any other area posted as no parking zones; parking is prohibited within 15 feet of fire hydrants, 30 feet of stop signs or stop lights, and 50 feet of railroad crossings; double-parking is illegal and so is parking that would block the normal flow of traffic; parking between the curb and sidewalk (on city right-of-way) is not allowed; disabled vehicles must be moved from the roadway promptly.

The City of Carbondale Police Department welcomes our newest residents and welcomes back our returning students. We hope this school year will be a safe and successful one for everyone. If you have any questions, please contact the Support Services Division at 457-3200 Ext 471.

 

Amplified Sound Ordinances

The City of Carbondale Police Department would like to remind residents that Carbondale City Ordinance prohibits the use of sound amplification devices in such a way that the sound can be heard more than 100 feet away during daytime hours (7:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.) and more than 50 feet during nighttime hours (10:00 p.m. - 7:00 a.m.).

City Ordinance also prohibits amplified sound from vehicles which may be heard more than 50 feet from the vehicle at any time.

The Carbondale Police Department receives numerous complaints regarding amplified sound violations from vehicles and asks citizens to be respectful of their neighbors. Convictions of a City Ordinance violation can result in a fine ranging from $75-$750.


Copyright 2014 Carbondale Police Department. All Rights Reserved.